… to a lesbian conception adventure!

My eyes are up here…

So a disturbing new trend is taking place among my co-workers. As I speak with them, I find their eyes shifting down to my ever-growing midsection and then back up to my face. More than once in a conversation. In a subtle, but very-noticeable-to-me way.

At first it was just the coworkers that know, but now it’s also coworkers that don’t officially “know,” though apparently according to a coworker in the know, I gave away my whole pregnancy by wearing motion sickness bands to a training several weeks ago. Ever since them, several of my colleagues have asked him if he knows what’s up. Who in the world is that super sleuthy to guess that? Why do people have the time to guess that? And why would that be the one day (seriously, the bands didn’t work so well for me) that I would be trying just about anything to keep myself from vomiting?

It’s really not a big deal, of course folks are going to guess (and talk). I just was excited about my little secret and finding out that it’s not such a secret after all (and not for a good, baby bump reason, but for a silly had-to-deal-with-nausea reason) is a little disappointing. That being said, I’ve neither confirmed nor denied anything (and won’t until after my appointment next week) and in the meantime I get to chuckle a little to myself when I see someone’s eyes shifting ever-so-cautiously down down down.

Comments on: "My eyes are up here…" (1)

  1. Just wait. My coworkers (the kind you don’t know who are but see every couple weeks on the elevator) have just started yelling out gender guesses when I pass them in the halls. It’s bizarre.

Leave a comment